Accessibility links

  1. Skip to main content
  2. Skip to section navigation
  3. Skip to global navigation

Section navigation

  1. Biography


I was brought up in Guernsey, in the Channel Islands, and spent a wonderful, carefree childhood by the sea.

I've always been incredibly sporty and active — from athletics to swimming, football to gymnastics, and I represented Guernsey in the Åland Island Games when I was 18.

I completed my three years actor training at Rose Bruford College of Speech & Drama, and have been enjoying my career in theatre, film and television ever since.

My passion is for physical theatre and I love the work of Frantic Assembly and DV8. I love to use my body to tell the story and to be the character, and I discovered that I took to contemporary dance like a duck to water, during rehearsals for Trading Faces' "Creaking Shadows".

I like new writing (Sarah Kane, Mark Ravenhill, April de Angelis, Bryony Lavery) and playing gritty, three-dimensional characters. I think theatre should be dynamic, daring, challenge an audience, and leave an impression.

I am happy to work in a variety of media and have been lucky enough to work in most of them. I have played a number of child characters, probably owing to my energy and young looks, but I relish the challenge of bringing all characters to life, given half the chance.

I am an actor but I make sure it's not the only thing that defines me. I think a useful and creative actor is a person first, and should have lots going on in their life.

I keep active by using my bike as my transport around London, I run up to 4 times a week, and swim, roller blade and ski when I have time. I love football, and although I'm not playing at the moment, I belong to Battersea & Wandsworth Borough women's football club, and am pretty handy on the right wing! In 2008 I went to Kicking Horse in Canada for three months to do a ski instructor course. Apart from the fantastic opportunity to ski every day and complete my CSIA level 2, I learnt a lot about myself, and enjoyed being away from home for that length of time. I've since used my qualification to teach in Italy.

I draw, make greetings cards, and have made a recipe book for a friend. I also make stuff out of fabric — curtains, cushion covers, hot water bottle covers, mobile phone cases. I'm mad about afternoon tea and cakes, and am writing a book about my experiences in tea shops around the country. It's a kind of guidebook with a twist. I like to bake too, (mostly traditional cakes, biscuits and bread) and use baking as a way to relax. I'm also writing a children's book. Watch this space. Future plans in the pipeline include cycling across Europe with my tent and a clean pair of pants, finding a way to bake my cakes and get paid for it, and way down the line I'd like to own a tea shop.

Change site colour theme